My tuna bolognese

This is just one of many tuna recipes that I make a lot. It’s not intended to be a dish for entertaining but a real stay at home staple that cheers you up. I thought it was my own invention but I’ve since seen Giorgio do a very similar dish but with the addition of a copy of anchovies at the stage when the tomotoes go in. It only takes about 20 minutes and leaves you wanting more.
Bella!
What you need
Tin of good quality tuna.
Tin of good quality chopped tomatoes.
About 10 small mushrooms sliced.
1 onion – finely diced.
Enough wholemeal spaghetti for two servings.
Parmesan cheese for sprinkling to taste.
Black pepper.
Fresh or dried oregano.
Clove of garlic.
Teaspoon of chopped red chilli.
What to do
Sweat the onion in a small amount of olive oil until soft.
Add the chopped garlic and chilli.
Add the mushrooms and stir for two minutes.
Add the tuna and stir fry in the dryish pan for a minute or two before adding the tomatoes.
Add the oregano to taste.
Reduce the heat and simmer for the time it takes to cook the spaghetti.
Serve the sauce on top of the spaghetti with black pepper and Parmesan to taste.

Let me know what you think of this recipe or send me your favourite. If its looks tasty I’ll try it out.


I’m away on my holidays now but, in my absence, Justin Webb (of mackerel pate fame) will be keeping this blog on the boil.

2 thoughts on “My tuna bolognese

  1. I was just searching to see if their was any recipes for this online, I also thought it was my creation.
    Well, mine is, it has a bit more to it, and I’m not telling you anymore.

    Like

  2. I was just searching to see if their was any recipes for this online, I also thought it was my creation.
    Well, mine is, it has a bit more to it, and I’m not telling you anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

