Quick-quick Thai (or How I Became A Domestic God)

I am still smacking my lips and foraging through my teeth with my tongue, after one of the quickest and scrummiest meals I’ve had in nearly a week. My Thai food is wonderful, mainly because it’s so easy to do, I can’t go wrong. The only thing I had to buy in town today was the veg – everything else was in the cupboard, which is what I call planning ahead.
I call this dish Chang, because I first learned how to cook the full version on the Thai islands of Ko Chang. Chang means ‘elephant’, but rest assured this dish looks nothing like an elephant. The island, however, looks just like an elephant.
Ko Chang.jpg
This is the just-got-in-from-work-and-can’t-be-arsed version of a Thai stir-fry, which may have the purists among you quivering.
The big ingredients are:
Stir fry veg, chopped into batons (I had babby sweetcorn, babby carrots, babby mange tout, and adult spring onion)
One pack of Amoy straight-to-wok noodles (if you haven’t tried them, do, they’re brilliant)
One box of Cauldron marinated tofu (use chicken is you wish but you’ll waste both time and karma)
The little ingredients are:
half a teaspoon of powdered kaffir lime leaf
the same of powdered galangal
the same of powdered lemongrass
the same of dried red chilli flakes
the same of brown sugar
a cup of coconut milk
a splash of nam pla (fish sauce)
juice of a lime
(I got my spices from the Creative Cook range, they’re great for starter chefs in all sorts of cuisines)
Do it in this order – quickly whizz all the little ingredients together. Leave to stew a bit. Meanwhile, put a dash of oil in a hot wok, and stir fry your vegetables. Keep it moving at all times, either by stirring or flipping the wok like a pro. When the veg is three-quarters done, toss in the tofu. Carry on stir frying, and when you think the veg is finally how you like it, pop in the noodles, and lastly the coconut concoction. Mix really well, and serve in deep white bowls with lime wedges.
How easy is that?
(You know those recipes which are inversely rewarding? The less effort you put in, the lovelier they are. This is one of those.)
You might want to use fresh chillies, lemongrass and all that jazz, and you’re free to – but when I come in from work and I want my tea in 10 minutes, then this is what I have.
This recipe serves two, but tastes so good I’m afraid I forgot to share mine. How very dreadful of me.

Leave a Reply

