Manchester Tart gets warm welcome

Pea and ham soup, cheese and onion pie and Manchester Tart mmmmmmmm you can almost see the Bisto kids coming into view! Does that sound like a three course meal from your childhood? Whether you enjoyed these meals as a child or not, everyone can imagine a time when dinners were as comforting as these regional dishes. Now they have been collected together in a new cookbook.
tart.jpg
Aptly titled Manchester Tart and other favourites, the cookbook is the result of a community project which drew on the experienced older cooks of Miles Platting, Collyhurst and Ancoats.
It was the brainchild of Fiona Vincent, co-ordinator of the Zest healthy living project in the area.
She told me why the book had been created; “I wanted to do something in the area to celebrate it and also to get people interested in cooking and talking about cooking and healthy eating.

“The reaction has been really positive. Local people and a lot of older people are enjoying the recipes and remembering things they used to eat.”

The cookbook is a unique collection of individual recipes which just goes to show the fantastic repository of experience and knowledge held in our communities.
scones.jpg
From Margaret’s scones to Tina’s Irish stew, every recipe has been tried and tested on countless family members and would make a valuable addition to any cook’s collection.
Try out the Manchester Tart recipe here.
Manchester Tart and Other Favourites: Recipes from Miles Platting, Collyhurst and Ancoats is part of a community project run by Zest, Manchester Council, and the North Manchester Primary Care Trust. It is available for £6.99 from the Cornerhouse, Urbis or by calling Fiona on 0161 277 8816.

8 thoughts on “Manchester Tart gets warm welcome

  1. Called at both Cornerhouse and Urbis to get a copy of this book, but neither had it. Also tried phoning Fiona on number given, but message saying out of order. I would really like to find out how I could currently obtain a copy of this book

    Like

  2. Called at both Cornerhouse and Urbis to get a copy of this book, but neither had it. Also tried phoning Fiona on number given, but message saying out of order. I would really like to find out how I could currently obtain a copy of this book

    Like

  3. I have made manchester tarts for at least 20years now, and I have always put bananas on top of the jam and added fresh cream etc to the topping when cold. Have I been doing it wrong ??

    Like

  4. I have made manchester tarts for at least 20years now, and I have always put bananas on top of the jam and added fresh cream etc to the topping when cold. Have I been doing it wrong ??

    Like

  5. Hi Elizabeth
    I also tried the number and got a message but it did say that it was temporarily out-of-order so maybe it would be worth trying in a few days time.
    I’ve tried to contact the people behind the book by email so, if they come back to me, I’ll update the blog with details. As this posting was a couple of years ago now, I suppose it could be unavailable, but I will try to get an answer – to this and to Tracey’s banana question!

    Like

  6. Hi Elizabeth
    I also tried the number and got a message but it did say that it was temporarily out-of-order so maybe it would be worth trying in a few days time.
    I’ve tried to contact the people behind the book by email so, if they come back to me, I’ll update the blog with details. As this posting was a couple of years ago now, I suppose it could be unavailable, but I will try to get an answer – to this and to Tracey’s banana question!

    Like

  7. Yes we still have the book in print and copies for sale. All proceeds go to the local community magazine for Miles Platting – Have Your Say.
    The book can be bought from the Cornerhouse Cinema but they are out of stock at the moment but will have another 20 copies in stock from Monday 3rd November.
    Or alternatively people can contact me directly for copies of the book priced 6.99
    Alison Holland at Zest – ring 0161 655 7883 or Email – a.holland1@manchester.gov.uk

    Like

  8. Yes we still have the book in print and copies for sale. All proceeds go to the local community magazine for Miles Platting – Have Your Say.
    The book can be bought from the Cornerhouse Cinema but they are out of stock at the moment but will have another 20 copies in stock from Monday 3rd November.
    Or alternatively people can contact me directly for copies of the book priced 6.99
    Alison Holland at Zest – ring 0161 655 7883 or Email – a.holland1@manchester.gov.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

