365 things to do with potato

mashed-potato.jpg
Here’s a new one on me – mash of the day. One of Manchester’s newest restaurants, Bacchanalia, offers diners a special daily choice of the pureed potato.
During my visit this weekend, the dish was served with shallots and leeks. And a very creamy, tasty bit of comfort food it was too.
But it did leave me thinking, do they have 365 recipes for crushed spud? How fantastic if they really do.
I can think of a good many varieties of the humble mash straight off – the Irish Colcannon for starters, mash with cheese and spring onions, mash with garlic, mash with mustard and so on.
But coming up with 365 seems to be a bit of a long shot. The enthusiastic cooks at Recipezaar managed to come up with 135 different recipes although I think I draw the line at mashed potato cookies.

My full review of Bacchanalia, Chapel Walks will be available soon.

Leave a Reply

