Being a domestic goddess: Day two

goddess.jpg
I swear the Lawson woman is everywhere! I only introduced her into my blog yesterday and now look what’s happened. First she’s on the radio this morning and now she’s going to be on the television again too.
I’m starting to feel I’m living in Nigella world. I began the day considering this little gem from her wise pen;

“At other times we don’t want to feel like a post-modern, post-feminist, overstretched woman but, rather, a domestic goddess, trailing nutmeggy fumes of baking pie in our langourous wake.”

Unsure what exactly she’s talking about I tuned in to hear her festive tips on Wimmins Hour before hitting the phone in my quest to find some filo pastry again for her courgette and chick pea Iranian style pie.
I failed on the pastry front and so have fallen back on an old favourite to treat Himself and a friend for supper tonight.
Surely baking your own pasta is an act of domestic goddessery? That’s got to count.
I’m still not entirely sure what’s entailed for the serious student of home deity seeking. As well as heaping praise on sausages (sausages!?!) during her radio slot, Ms Lawson advised a caller to enjoy cooking by drinking Champagne while peeling the sprouts. Now that sounds a bit more like it, finally something achievable.

Leave a Reply

