My sweet corn soup

corni.jpg
Spotting a bargain at the grocers this weekend, I suddenly found the need for a sweet corn soup recipe. My local grocer has reduced corn to such a price that I think they’ll start paying me to take it away if it gets any cheaper.
I had a buzz round the internet and then made it up and came up with something between a “cream of” and a “chowder”. A “creamder” or a “chow of”?
Whatever it is, it’s a winner and really simple too. You could probably make it with a lot less corn – I used so much purely because I had it.
What you need
5 corn on the cob.
2 carrots.
1 celery stalk.
Half an onion.
Two mugs of chicken stock.
Small tub of single cream.
Splash of olive oil.
Salt and pepper.
blenders.jpg
What to do
Remove the kernels from the cobs. (I followed these instructions).
Clean and chop the onion, carrots and celery.
Saute these in a splash of olive oil in a large saucepan.
Add the stock and simmer for 10 minutes.
Add the corn kernels and simmer for a further 5 minutes.
Remove from heat and allow to cool.
Blend the mixture – you may find it easier to do in batches and this way you can add/reduce liquid to the required consistency.
Add the cream.
Season to taste.
Reheat to serve but avoid boiling.

Leave a Reply

