Everyone loves a sausage!

Everyone in Manchester, it seems, loves a sausage. Now I know I’m putting myself in the firing line for a stream of double entendre jokes with this observation but it has to be noted – the city is full of sausage munchers and it seems the bigger, the better.
This alarming fact struck me as I ventured out of the office into St Ann’s Square at lunchtime. Deciding my habits had become distinctly predictable of late, a quick wander to the latest outdoor event which combines food and jazz . Nice.
Everywhere I looked, people were devouring sausages. It’s not the only food on offer by any means – there’s everything from snickels smoothies. So what is the big attraction? In what way is an outdoor jazz recital made better by the pork presence?


While you ponder that, enjoy a little of the atmosphere of today and of course there’s more pictures on the Life through food Flickr group.
For my part, I tucked into a chick pea, spinach and new potato curry from the Zest stall. It was very large and very spicy – and nothing at all like a sausage.

2 thoughts on “Everyone loves a sausage!

  1. Think yourself lucky, I moved from Manchester to Coventry Four years ago and never have I been anywhere so obsessed by the jacket spud. A sausage would be considered so high class dining as to be beyond aspirations round these parts.

    Like

  2. Think yourself lucky, I moved from Manchester to Coventry Four years ago and never have I been anywhere so obsessed by the jacket spud. A sausage would be considered so high class dining as to be beyond aspirations round these parts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

