The (link) baitbox: Baker’s Rwanda trip plus curry, Cornocopia, Claridges and more

Some of the tastiest morsels with a northern edge to enjoy for your lunch.

– Baker Ruth Clemens, who blogs at the Pink Whisk, has arrived in Rwanda for a tour with Save the Children. In the first of her posts about the trip she finds a country with plenty of food but also child malnutrition.

“Arrived safely in Rwanda with the team.   I’m going to admit I’m a bit shell shocked – travelling so far on my own is in itself a big milestone for me let alone suddenly finding myself immersed in an African city.  Based in the capital of Kigali we’ve spent the day doing some country briefings and have learnt some shocking stats gathered for the Life Free From Hunger campaign.”

– Yorkshire-born chocolatier Paul Young tells the Independent about his earliest food memory:”Going to my great-grandfather’s house after school on a Monday evening, when my grandma would come over and cook stew and big Yorkshire puddings.”

– In a boost to regional produce, North West food chain Booths has instructed its buyers to find Forgotten Foods and bring them to market – delights such as Formby asparagus, double curd Lancashire cheese and a true York ham.

– The Yorkshire Dales Food blog posts about a visit to Cornucopia at Leeds Corn Exchange and has a collection of links about the event which brought together local food producers.

Food Fascination ventures away from Liverpool and heads south to sample tea at Claridges.

The Cook in a Curry will play host to an Indian Ladies Lunch at Close House Hotel in Northumberland next month.

North West Nosh  speaks for many of us when it comes to stocks and provides some solutions.

“I don’t have the time for stock making (ie I’m lazy) or we never eat enough meat to stockpile the bones for something like beef stock. My freezer’s already full to burst, so meticulously adding in bone after bone to a stock bag and then remembering to use them just doesn’t happen in our household. So it’s to the trusty prepared stocks, mainly cubes and powders, that I turn.”

Leave a comment